Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Giveaway! The Survivors Club: The Secrets and Science that Could Save Your Life by Ben Sherwood

Which is the safest seat on an airplane? Where is the best place to have a heart attack? Why does religious observance add years to your life? How can birthdays be hazardous to your health?

Each second of the day, someone in America faces a crisis, whether it's a car accident, violent crime, serious illness, or financial trouble. Given the inevitability of adversity, we all wonder: Who beats the odds and who surrenders? Why do some people bound back and others give up? How can I become the kind of person who survives and thrives?

In the tradition of Freakonomics and The Tipping Point, this book reveals the hidden side of survival by combining astonishing true stories, gripping scientific research, and the author's adventures inside the U.S. military's elite survival schools and the government's airplane crash evacuation course.

You can also discover your own Survivor IQ through a powerful Internet-based test called the Survivor Profiler. Developed exclusively for this book, the test analyzes your personality and generates a customized report on your top survivor strengths.

There is no escaping life's inevitable struggles. But this tool can give you an edge when adversity strikes.


My Review:
In America, life expectancy is 78.14 years. If you would like to live longer, read this compelling self-help book. It's loaded with detailed research material and anecdotal tips on surviving--what to do when: being impaled with a foreign object, finding yourself lost in the woods, experiencing an airplane crash, having a heart attack, or making a trip to the ER.

Many topics are covered with proof that they help people live: the power of prayer, managing fear, the will to live, and having good genes. Adversity can work to make people appreciate life and have a better perspective. Daily joy can be experienced after a traumatic episode.

Offered are such informative chapters as: The Survivor Profile, Your Survivor IQ, and Your Survivor Tool Kit. I suggest using this volume as a resource tool. Though it is interesting enough to be read straight through, I want to keep it around to refer to often.

The author has recently made appearance on the Today Show and on 20/20. In addition, an excerpt appeared in Sunday's Parade Magazine.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The generous folks at Hachette Book Group are allowing me to host this book giveaway for five (5) copies!
  • Winners are restricted to the US and Canada. No PO Box mailing addresses, please.
  • I must have a way of contacting you, so be sure to leave your email address in code in your comment (Please do not ask me to look it up!)
  • I'll close the comments at 6 PM EST February 4th and pick the five winners. I will contact the winners via email to get their mailing information. The winners will have three days to respond. If I do not hear from them within three days, I will select another winner(s).
  • If you're interested, just say so in a comment with that all-important email address in code.
    Example of email in code: you[at]yourmail[dot]com

    If you'd like to buy a copy, click here.



20 comments:

Shimmy Mom said...

This one sounds interesting. I'd love to be entered.

shimmywith4 at yahoo dot com

Thanks again Sally,
*hugs*

Diane of Crafty Passions said...

This one sounds interesting!
Diane
diane.soroko@gmail.com

traveler said...

Thanks for featuring this great book. Sounds intriguing and unique.
saubleb(at)gmail(dot)com

Stacie said...

Please count me in too.

Dawn - She is Too Fond of Books said...

Sal - I had read the publisher's summary before, and *The Survivor's Club* didn't quite grab me.

Having read your review, and an exensive write-up in this week's Newsweek, I see that this is something that will really appeal to me.

Please do enter my name in the giveaway. Many thanks.

dawn [dot] rennert [at] verizon [dot] net

Shanna said...

Another take on the "You" series by Dr. Oz and company.

Great give a way.

shanna . m . hall @gmail.com

Anonymous said...

I'd love a chance to win a copy! Kate
send2young@aol.com

Thanks :-)

Jerry said...

This sounds like an interesting book. Please add in my name.

Jerry
gardenexaminer@aim.com

Gwendolyn B. said...

Absolutely I'd like to win a copy of this -- it might save my life! Thank you for the chance!
geebee.reads AT gmail DOT com

Mary Ellen said...

I have heard about this book and would love to read it.........please enter me in your give-away. What a wonderful job, reveiwing books.

Bridget said...

This sounds captivating and who wouldn't want to know something that could possibly save their life?!
I believe in the power of prayer, I've seen the results too many times to not believe! This sounds so helpful. It sounds like it would not only potentially save the reader's life but it could help you to save someone else's life!
I'd LOVE to read it so please add my name to the list.

Have a great weekend, Bridget
sillymilly {at} gmail {dot} com

Neas Nuttiness said...

I'm interested - count me in!
Thanks Sal

libneas[at]aol[dot]com

CC said...

This book sounds like one everybody should read. Thanks for offering us a chance to have one..and oh, yes.. Please enter me. I would love to have a copy.
cat_white_cloud (at)yahoo(dot) com

windycindy said...

Greetings! I think this book should get more publicity. More Americans could learn more about survivor
ship. I think I do remember the article about it in Parade Magazine!
I missed the 20/20 episode. Please enter me another of your delightful book giveaway drawings. Many thanks, Cindi
jchoppes[at]hotmail[dot]com

sara said...

this sounds very interesting!!! I'd love to read this book.

Lisa said...
This comment has been removed by the author.
ellie said...

Thanks for this wonderful book. I heard an interview with the author on the radio. Very interesting and impressive.
rojosho(aot)hotmail(dot)com

Diana D said...

I'm most interested in the book. Thanks for having the wonderful giveaway,

dianad8008 AT gmail DOT com

Smilingsal said...

The winners are: Shimmy Mom, Diane at Crafting Passions, Bridget, Nea Nuttiness, and Lisa

Mrs. B. Silly said...

Sally, Thank you! I didn't realize I had won but the book just showed up on my doorstep. I'm starting to read it right now!
Hugs, Bridget